ECFC 1920/21

Secretary Mr S H Thomas

Manager Mr A Chadwick.

The Football League consisting of two divisions was increased to three divisions in 1920-21, the clubs of the Southern League being admitted en bloc to the 3rd Division with the exception of Cardiff City, elected to the 2nd Division. Grimsby Town (bottom of the 2nd Division in 1919-20) were admitted to the 3rd Division in place of Cardiff City.


Dick Pym, Exeter City’s goalkeeper and former Captain was transferred to Bolton Wanderers on June 27th 1921. The fee paid by Bolton was £1 500. (Enough money to purchase the stadium)

Billy Goodwin, Exeter City’s Centre Forward in 1914-15 and 1919-20 was transferred to Manchester United in 1920-21.

John Mitton was transferred to Sunderland on October 22nd 1920.

W Wright was transferred to Huddersfield Town in exchange for R Shields in December 1920.

Jimmy Rigby retired at the end of 1919-20, but signed on again in January 1921, and played against Watford in the 1st Round cup tie on January 8th.

Exeter City played in Red and White strips and white shorts.

League Appearances and Goals

Dockray 42
Feebery 42
Carrick 41
Pym 39
Makin 37
Appleton 36
Vowles 32
Green 31
Colebourne 30
Crawshaw 29
Shields 19
Wright 17
Mitton 11
Hetherington 9
Pollard 7
Rigby 7
Lakin 6
Taylor 6
MacIntyre 6
Brayshaw 4
Hinton 4
Waller 3
Bettridge 2
Hesmondhalgh 1
Hilton 1


Vowles 9
Wright 9
Makin 7
Shields 4
Carrick 3
Appleton 2
Feebery 2
Dockray 1
Hetherington 1
Hinton 1

League Stats
Position: 19th
Played: 42
Won: 10
Drew: 15
Lost: 17
Goals For: 39
Goals Against: 54
Points: 35

FA Cup
First Round: Watford (A), 3-0


Item Relations

This item has no relations.


Allowed tags: <p>, <a>, <em>, <strong>, <ul>, <ol>, <li>